Plenty of Free Parking

So there I was, minding my own business practicing my seven probe scanning in high sec and I was able to lock down a nice wormhole in my system.  I warp in cloaked to 10km off the WH in my Buzzard to see if there is any activity.


All quiet at this end, no significant disruption by ships so, I call back my probes, reload and hop through.  A quick check of the system on Dotlan Eve Maps (and/or Wormhole Explorer) tells me its a nice Class 2 hole.

I bookmarked the exit and start slow boating away from the hole cloaked while I get my bearings.  Before I drop any probes, I pop open the D-Scanner and this is what I see:

This place needs a valet

Man, that’s a lot of ship maintenance arrays!

I’ve scanned down and visited a few inhabited wormholes and most seem to have fairly pedestrian facilities.  Another class 2 I visited the day before had a large tower, a few defenses sort of hap hazardly deployed and a medium intensive refining array, a Corporate Hangar Array and one Ship Maintenance Array.  Now, each SMA can hold 20 million m3 of assembled ships and drones so thats 180 million m3 of ship storage.

For reference, an Orca has a volume of 10.25 million m3, a Hulk only 200k, a Drake only 252k m3 and a Raven only 486k m3.  Hell, even an Obelisk only occupies 17.5 million m3.  Even Carriers and Dreadnoughts are even under 1.5 million.

They only had three corporate hangar arrays (1.4 million m3 storage each).  Even if they consciously violated Letrange’s sage advice, that still seems a bit excessive for a class 2 wormhole.

Being a complete POS and WH habitation noob, I’m sure I’m missing something.  Someone please enlighten me why you’d need space to store the equivalent of 370 battleships in a class 2 wormhole system.

8 thoughts on “Plenty of Free Parking”

  1. Might be for security purposes as well. 5 different SAA allows for different levels of access. It’s easy to sit here and do the math and figure out how more efficient they could be, but efficiency goes out the window when you need secure access.

Leave a comment