RSS

Banned (in Spaaaaace)

14 Apr
And don't come back to the WoolWorths

And stay out of the WoolWorths

So there I was minding my own business… I was about to head out this morning and as I was about to load up my laptop, I decided to log in and swap a skill in Eve.  Despite the wonderful awesomeness of new skill queue, it still wont let you queue up a new skill you haven’t either learned a bit of or at least “injected”.  If you have a skill that requires completion of some level of prerequisite skill you can’t queue it until you inject it.  You can’t inject it if you can’t yet train it, and you can’t train it unless you’ve completed the prerequisite skill…

Such was my situation last night before I logged out.  I had a new skill I needed to complete a prerequisite for.  The prerequisite would finish sometime overnight, but I wouldn’t be able to inject or start that new one until the prereq completed.  So, I queued a few others to get me through the night/day incase I wasn’t able to get on.  This morning I thought, hey, why not just add that now and get on with it.

So it was much to my surprise when I tried to log on and Eve told me my account had been banned for security reasons (361 logins)!  Well considering I logged out around 11 pm and relogged about 8:30am, thats quite a few logins overnight. Banned.  Again.  The attentive reader may remember that my WoW account got hacked a while back though subsequently restored intact rather promptly.

Petition filed with support, so as of this writing, no response from CCP yet.  I’m hopeful that all will be restored.  Unfortunately, this account was my market character (with all the isk), my orca pilot, my shiny new raven pilot and had a few of the corporate keys to the castle (our castle being rather modest).  I quickly alerted Wil to the situation so he could lockdown corporate family jewels (or at least see if they were still there– they were).  I also promptly changed my account information on my second account.

After the WoW incident, I think I was probably pretty stupid as my Eve main account stupidly shared the same login info as the old hacked WoW one which I had forgotten/neglected to change.  But who would bother hacking Eve?  Well, I guess I know now someone would…

Well, isk is isk and fortunately I was at a lower isk balance than I have been in a while.  The main character does have about 10 million sp, so that would be a pain to replicate if the worst happens and of course, my Orca, shiny new Raven, rigged Iteron V as well as other misc ships and stuff.  Fingers crossed that this is merely a pause and not a restart.

I’m told, though I’ve never confirmed myself, that it takes a week to permanently delete a character.  Given the account was banned within hours of my last log out, I’m at least comfortable that the character is there, even if the isk or stuff isn’t.

In WoW where my priest was the healer for our regular 5 man group, the prospect of grinding a new character up to be able to play with everyone was very close to being a death sentence for the group.  Just not sure I would have had it in me.

Not so in Eve.  As there are many paths to follow and as I’ve become more knowledgeable about life as a capsuleer in New Eden, I’m not so daunted by the prospect of starting over.  Not thrilled, but not daunted either.  I know I could be much more “efficient” with a fresh toon.

Nonetheless, I’m hopeful that CCP support will set things aright within a reasonable amount of time.  If Eve has taught me one thing, its patience.  That, and don’t fly what you can’t afford to lose…

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 14, 2009 in Eve Online, World of Warcraft

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “Banned (in Spaaaaace)

  1. Tony "EVE's Weekend Warrior"

    April 14, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Uh oh!!!

     
  2. smakendahed

    April 14, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Ouch.

    A lot of people don’t realize this, but sometimes a username is as valuable to be secure as a password. Never go with anything obvious. Don’t use an alias, don’t use an email address… nothing that is public information or that can be derived from public knowledge (i.e. first/last name).

    Heck, don’t even use common words.

    Some games actually make sure you have a user name and a screen name for public forums so most of the time it’s protected. Do not reuse it on other sites either. More games should allow you to change your username too.

    I’d also recommend revisiting any online stores you might have an account with and ensuring the name or passwords are changed as well. Some store payment information without an extra security check since they figure the password is good enough.

    Sorry to hear that man.

     
  3. p@tsh@t

    April 14, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    All good suggestions Smaken. My names and passwords are generally unrelated to any public information or derivatives though I’m guilty of recycling…

    An excellent suggestion that companies should make usernames resettable like passwords…

    Fingers crossed, we’ll see what transpires.

     
  4. Kirith Kodachi

    April 14, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    That totally sucks man. If there is anything I can do to help out, let me know.

     
  5. Wilhelm2451

    April 14, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    Bad mojo.

    Agreed Smak! It used to drive me nuts when your forum name for SOE games was the same as your logon name. There are a couple of logon names I wouldn’t mind resetting since the names I used ended up appearing a bit more publicly down the road.

     
  6. manasi

    April 15, 2009 at 7:12 am

    ouch X 2 never ever a fun thing. youz GOTS to use different names/ pw etc…but hell you knew that…sorry for the bad luck and better luck on getting it fixed.

    ~Manasi

     
  7. Trigger64

    April 15, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Just an fyi, the logins statistic on the banned popup indicates total logins.

    Random Fact: If paying by GTC or if you canceled your subscription, and tried to login while your account was inactive or suspended, you would get a notification saying, “ACOUNT BANNED!
    REASON: UNKNOWN
    DURATION: PERMA-BANNED”

    That was always a heart stopper for a couple seconds until I realized my account had lapsed.

    Good for you though for alerting another director and performing an asset check. My only thought is that your account was flagged for too many incorrect passwords, assuming you haven’t been moving tens of billions of isk around, although if the suspected you if selling isk, you probably would have found your other accounts banned also.

    Good luck, hope you get this resolved.

     
  8. p@tsh@t

    April 15, 2009 at 9:44 am

    @Trigger: Good to know regarding the logins. That makes sense since I started the account about two years ago, but have had significant periods unsubscribed.

    If the corp member status page can be trusted, the account in question hadn’t been logged in after the last time I logged out, so I suspect maybe a password attack.

    Isk, gear and what not exchange between our corpmates as we coordinate our activities, but thats been millions not billions of isk and all within the corp.

    Never botted, never bought or sold accounts, isk or characters, never used time codes or PLEX…

    Still no response or acknowledgement to my petition.

     
  9. Macilles

    July 26, 2009 at 6:52 am

    Same just happened to me yesterday…. You really get that deep gut feeling as soon as you log on and your funds display a significantly smaller amount than you expect (the bit before you actually go into the game).

    Got on and everything was gone, CNR rigged with mods (mostly CN stuff), 2Billion WTB contract for crystals cancelled and gone and everything else, ships modules minerals, salvage material you name it, i was left with a shuttle and 12 station containers…. empty.

    And I’m also not getting any reply from CCP. Could you just clarify if this got sorted of not. If yes, how long did it take, what did you get back and how did you get it back? (ships rigged or rigs seperate, etc)

    Thanks

     
    • p@tsh@t

      July 26, 2009 at 9:23 am

      Hi Macilles:

      It did get resolved in fairly short order though I ended up filing a second ticket a few days later through the main site. Give them as much info as you can and hopefully they’ll be able to help. Fortunately, everything was intact for me. Good luck!

      Here was my follow up post with more info.

      https://potshot.wordpress.com/2009/04/16/free-at-last/

       

Leave a Reply

 
