RSS

Launch of the Lich King

14 Nov

Not having a 7-11 nearby, I had to await the actual release date of WoW’s Wrath of the Lich King expansion to actually purchase the game.  I opted to extend my lunch and make the pilgrimage to Fry’s to pick up our copies.

Mrs. P gets a collectors edition so she can enjoy Frosty the Frost Wyrm whelp who I must say is cute.  Despite scattered reports of installer problems (including by our own Earlthecat), our installs and account upgrades went without a hitch and the obligatory patching went quick which was surprising at prime time U.S. west coast.

The installer screen actually did a decent job of setting the Lich King story up, and I actually found myself rereading bits of it.  When I was finally able to log on:

Queue Something Else to Do

Queue some shopping, queue some laundry

Well, not too unexpected.  We queued, went to the grocery store, had dinner and just as I was returning to my computer I was greeted with a “<1 min” estimate.  Nice timing.

First things first, I decided to see what the crowds were like in Northrend rather than launch a Death Knight, so on to Stormwind Harbor to catch the boat to Northrend.  Now this was at the end of the day on the west coast and Eldre’Thalas is technically an east coast server, so crowds may have been a bit smaller than a few hours earlier.  Still, scads of people were crowding the boats with no significant lag that I noticed.

Northrend Ahoy!

Set your course for adventure and your mind on a new romance...

Luckily, Thursday is our regular group’s optional casual “whatever” night, so four of us eventually hooked up in Northrend to start running some of the initial quests, get our tradeskill upgrades, etc.  Crowds were heavy in Valiance Keep, but again, no noticeable lag.

Other than the inevitable “camp the named” event. Questing was the usual fair but rewards seem to be offering effectively two alternate sets of gear upgrade.  A typical caster example would be something with Int and Spirit versus about the same item with Stam and Int.

More running about to be had this weekend I’m sure, but since it was getting a bit late, several of us decided to roll our Death Knights to begin that adventure.  Quite a bit of information has already floated around about the DK and the initial getting started quests, but I was still struck by the fact that you start your life as a DK with Mr. Big himself.

Shouldn't you be stuffed in the back of some raid dungeon I'll never see?

Um, don't you belong in the back of some raid dungeon I'll never see?

It was late, but the initial DK experience was wonderfully creepy and cool with Mr. Big channeling Emperor Palatine whispering evil nothings into your ear as you learn the class, earn your gear and get your evil death horsey.  All in all, I felt quite Anakin-like as Bungholio (aka Killy) and I mowed down 100 hapless Scarlet Crusaders with the cannons on their ships.

And of course, in typical Blizzard fashion, pop culture references abound.  Looking forward to exploring it more this weekend.  All in all, a completely smooth launch for me (though we’re still waiting for the mail to be restored…).

Ok, now I'm feeling old, but thank you Blizzard

Ok, now I'm feeling old, but thanks anyway Blizz

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2008 in World of Warcraft

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Launch of the Lich King

  1. Shaun Livingstone

    November 16, 2008 at 1:19 am

    Must… resist… death knight…

    Actually, I guess I’m bound to end up in WoW again sooner or later, despite my infrequent bashing of the game. Sometimes I just tire of the crackcocaine (EVE) and want to try something more mellow (WoW).

    But I’m a one-MMO-at-the-time kind of guy so…

     
  2. JdJdJd

    November 16, 2008 at 7:43 am

    I loved Siouxsie when I saw her. Although she didn’t make me feel old. The fact that the majority of the people there had no idea what the reference was is what made me feel old.

     
  3. nuyan

    November 16, 2008 at 11:25 am

    Siouxsie and The Banshees, awesome.

    I consider myself quite young by the way and didn’t exist during their heydays, but I do get that reference. :)

     
  4. *vlad*

    November 18, 2008 at 5:22 am

    Still using the default Blizzard frames & bars? There was a time when I did the same, but once I started using add-ons for these, I never wanted to return to Blizzard’s UI.

     
  5. Jaggins

    November 25, 2008 at 12:48 am

    Blizzard loves to play peekaboo with our 80’s memories…

     

Leave a Reply

 
