RSS

Ping Pong

12 Nov

…or how MMOs know you are playing another game and make you pay the price.

During my recent random ban (and subsequent reinstatement) from WoW, I succumbed to pressure to join Gaff and Wilhelm back in post-cataclysm Norrath.  EQ2 has always been something we’ve been interested in exploring, but having played WoW since near release with our group, its always been the number 2 or number 3 game for me and Mrs. P.

With WAR failing to deliver for our group endeavors, we pinged back to WoW.  With a solo character in the low 60s and the Lich King expansion just around the corner, I figured I spend some time getting him to 70 (now almost 65) so he could explore the expansion reasonably close to launch.  Then the ban hit, so I ponged to EQ2 and have been having a blast.

With my WoW account restored, our instance group reconvened last weekend (see TAGN for the chronicle of our continuing exploits).  Since I’ve been enjoying the new shiny that is EQ2, I’ve been less inclined to level my WoW hunter.  I’ve been spending most of my time in Norrath getting housekeeping set up– leveling basic skills, getting broker stuff set up, skilling tradeskills, etc.  Everything has been going fine.

So I (attempt to) log on last night with the idea that I might be able to progress the heritage quest that Wil, Mrs. P and I started a couple days ago.  And then my nemesis the SoE patcher starts doing its thing…again…

I’ve ranted about this before.  But it decided that it needed to spend 3+hours dl’ing and repatching most of the game.  I hit the forums, the knowledge base, etc. and I can find no reasonable reason why it would do this other than that the patcher is the suxxor.  Wil suggested that SoE mystically starts pushing out patches to subsets of users in advance of a big expasion.  With The Shadow Odyssey expansion due out on the 18th, timing makes sense.  Still its EXTREMELY annoying.

Apparently, EQ2 knew that I was playing other games and decided to penalize me, like WoW did for leaving it for Warhammer…

So after ranting and raging, I let the damned thing patch itself and ping ponged into Eve to queue some skills and check on market buy orders and then off to WoW to see what I could accomplish on my hunter before the expansion launch.  Jealous of my other gaming, Eve locked me out yesterday as it was deploying its expansion making me pay the ultimate price of not having a skill in training for more than an entire day.

I was able to get almost an entire level questing in Terrokar, progressing my hunter to just shy of 65 by the time I decided to call it quits.  With rested XP, he should be able to get to 70 relatively soon and catch the tail of the expansion wave into Northrend.  Without the ban, I probably would have been pretty darned close by now.

With EQ2 having repatched itself, I logged with only enough time to check the broker and go to bed.  One of the small advantages in joining a mature population server is that money is plentiful for buyers, which means it can be pretty lucrative for sellers.  Even lowbie rares are fetching quite (by my standards) nice prices and without much effort, I’m not wanting for cash.

In prior forays into Norrath, I’ve always felt a bit starved for cash and/or limited by way of progression because of either lack of cash to gear up/spell up via the broker or resort to grinding mats and tradeskills to boot strap into what I need.  This time is pleasantly different and part of that is due to the fact that between Gaff, Wilhelm and Mrs. P (not to mention the wonderful resources that RnH provides), we have specialized and have most of the necessities covered– bags, boxes, spells, armor, tailoring, etc. The upshot is that with the new faster leveling, we can pretty much keep each other in necessities without having to resort to the broker too much.  For us its the perfect scenario:  selling to players at inflated prices and purchasing from npcs at static low prices!

Of course, with the launch of Lich King, EQ2 will be spurned for a few days and Eve will be ignored for all but skill queuing until The Shadow Odyssey comes out next week.  Anymore expansions I should be anticipating this month?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2008 in Eve Online, Everquest 2, World of Warcraft

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Ping Pong

  1. tenfoldhate

    November 12, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    Not to make you paranoid or anything, but what are the chances of EvE, EQ2, and WoW all giving you trouble within the span of a few days?

    Clearly, the machines are out to get you. If I were you, I’d pack the wife in the car and find a prmitive cabin without electricty deep in the woods.

    Didn’t you ever see “Maximum Overdrive?”

     
  2. syncaine

    November 12, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    LoTRO expansion, if that holds any interest for you.

     
  3. p@tsh@t

    November 12, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Crap, you’re right. I had completely overlooked that. For some reason I had December in my mind…

     

Leave a Reply

 
