RSS

Hauling Ass

13 Oct

“Be kind to your ass, for it bears you.”

-John Muir, How to Keep Your Volkswagen Alive

Indeed.  If you mine in Eve, you know that a key to efficient operations is an effective hauler.  Never underestimate the value of a spacious cargo hold.

In my pursuit to fly acquire an ore devouring Hulk, I also set my sights on training my mission running character to make him a dedicated hauler in support of the miner.  After doing a bit of research, I decided that the Iteron Mark V was the hauler to go for. Relatively cheap, and potentially massive hauling capacity.

My miner had a Mammoth which was cheap, large and fast but didn’t do him much good while he was mining.  So after looking at the possibility of training my mission runner to fly Minmatar industrial ships, training time would have been about as long as going after Gallente Industrial V necessary to fly the Mark V.

The fastest and easiest industrial ship to get my mission runner into was the Badger which he had trained into as a solo miner back in the day.  So while training, I’ve been gritting my teeth flying the venerable Badger Mark II which is a nice little ship, but suffered from a lack of hauling capacity.

Training finished up a couple of days ago, so I finally went shopping.  I picked up an Iteron Mark V and quickly fitted it out with 5 Expanded Cargohold IIs which allows me to put eight, count them, eight Giant Secure Containers in it.

With the expanded cargoholds, base capacity in the Itty V is about 25k m3.  After stuffing it with 8 GSCs which hold 3,900 m3 but only occupy 3,000 m3 of hold space (don’t ask), that gives me a whopping 32,470 m3 of cargo space without any rigs or roughly 20% more than an entire jet can (or about 138 times more hauling capacity than the wee Bantam I started out with so long ago).

Once you futz around with getting the GSCs opened as separate tabs in your cargohold window, its not too bad to shuttle ore into and out of them in 3,900 m3 chunks.  When Kernite is selling for 300 isk per, that’s about 7.8 Million ISK per load.  Not too shabby, I’d say.

So far, I’m loving it, despite the ship looking like a giant space cam shaft.  With the kernite market having gone a bit soft, I’m looking farther afield to find healthy markets.  Having the ability to haul ginormous amounts between the Itty V and my miner’s Mammoth is going to make marketing all that ore (or minerals) that my miner will be pulling in all that much more enjoyable.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 13, 2008 in Eve Online

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Hauling Ass

  1. michael, St E

    October 13, 2008 at 7:42 am

    Rig it! For the love of veldspar, man, rig it!

    *shudder*

    I’m never going back to GSC hell ever again.

     
  2. Brinelan

    October 13, 2008 at 7:48 am

    The cost of the rigs are more then worth the hassle of the GSC’s.
    Oh, and check in to how much youll get for the refined minerals instead of selling the ore as-is. Make sure your standings are good with the faction owning the station you will refine at, and refining skills are high to get the most out of each rock.

     
  3. Wilhelm2451

    October 13, 2008 at 8:02 am

    Does that thing get turned by a timing belt or chain?

     
  4. p@tsh@t

    October 13, 2008 at 9:25 am

    In re Rigs: Yes, yes, but pragmatic incrementalism my friends. I’m scaling my ISK earning capacity, better miner, better hauler, more efficient refining, even more hauling capacity, pretty much in that order.

    Its what I can afford right now and until hauling becomes my rate limiting process, I’ll hold off on the rigs for a wee bit until a Hulk and a Raven are paid for.

    Where I’ve been mining, when the Kernite market is strong, it blows away refining by an order of magnitude (no minerals in high sec space could touch the profit/hour from 300-400 isk Kernite).

    When its soft, its the traditional miner’s refinery route for me and I need to pimp my faction and my refining efficiency. In my region, on a refined basis, lowly Veldspar is actually the most profitable /m3 atm.

    @ Wil: Chain with a rubber tensioner.

     

Leave a Reply

 
