RSS

On the WAR Path

17 Sep

So the cheap bastard (that’s me) headstart portion of WAR’s release started yesterday. After having a good time in OB, Mrs. P and I were kind of jonesing for WAR after a two day hiatus that allowed the CE fancy lads get rolling (though it sounds like Sunday was a bit rocky early on).

Tuesday being a workday, I opted against staying up until 4 am pacific to greet the dawn of WAR. So promptly at the crack of 7:30am ish or there abouts, I rolled out of bed, turned on the computer and in my best launch day optimism thought, “well, at least it might be patched by the time I get home from work.”

Much to my surprise, I launched the patcher, quick file check, but no patch, annoying double license/CoC click through and voila at server selection. Having decided to shadow the Casualties of War since I have a few friends there, I started with Averheim for Order. Volkmar for Destruction was pretty packed, but I’m not really planning on going Destro just yet.

I hopped in, rolled up a number of the usual suspects, name-wise and headed off to the office.

After the usual after work routine, Mrs. P and I settled into DAY ONE. Logged in and after a queue of about 15 seconds was in game. Order FTW.

Not having decided what class will be my “main” and/or what the group make up of our static group might look like, I started out with my Witch Hunter, Biggles who actually bears a striking resemblance to Michael Palin (middle) in the Spanish Inquisition Sketch rather than Terry Jones.

Perhaps there’s a flying helmet to be had in game. But lets face it, Biggles is funnier than Ximinez.

I haven’t seen so many puffy shirts since the launch of POTBS. Seriously, there were an ARMY of Witch Hunters desperately ridding Grimmenhagen of all heretics and alleged heretics and even a few people suspected of being alleged heretics.

Any who, had a fun time running about through the first few “give me some decent gear” quests and PQs that populate the starting area and managed to get him up to about level 6 before swapping out for something else. Very little lag over all, even in the crowded starting areas with probably 20-40 people in proximity during U.S. primetime. No CTDs (I do run in windowed mode, so no alt-tabbing). I wanted to avoid doing RvR until I had a few more of my “core” abilities acquired. Even with the bump up to Rank 8 in the scenarios, with crap gear and two attacks, its still pretty brutal as a complete noob.

Next I swapped to my dwarf engineer and ran him into chapter 2. Fewer folks in the early PQs, particularly as the night went on, but no real lag or glitches. Mrs. P who had run a Witch Hunter in open beta decided to roll with a Warrior Priestess and after a bit of a rocky transition was feeling uber by the end of the evening. She was rocking the Chapter 2 PQs with a small number of other folks and taking great delight in smashing things with her giant hammer while healing herself ad infinitum.

Since I got her computer upgraded, we are both at parity and experiencing no significant hardware issues. I took some advice I read somewhere and tweaked our video card settings to “force” antialiasing on and that has gotten rid of a few of the jaggies that remained.

All in all, no complaints, other than I have to work this week rather than stay up all night gaming.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2008 in Warhammer Online

 

Tags:

5 responses to “On the WAR Path

  1. whitekitten

    September 17, 2008 at 11:15 am

    . . . and taking great delight in smashing things with her giant hammer . . .

    Stardoe wields an axe, dude. Axe.

    Ty.

     
  2. Hudson

    September 17, 2008 at 11:28 am

    I have to say I hate that EULA confirmation screen. Not only is it sluggish and hard to click the little ACCEPT box, I sometimes misfire and hit DECLINE.

    Glad to see you are having a good time!

     
  3. whitekitten

    September 17, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    I’ve had a quite a jolt. Apparently Stardoe’s “axe” is . . . a “warhammer.” So, to correct the above:

    Stardoe wields an axe-like hammer, dude. Axe-like hammer.

    I hope this clears things up and puts a halt to the controversy and flaming.

    wk

     
  4. syncaine

    September 17, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    Queue-adding scum, welcome to the game :)

     
  5. p@tsh@t

    September 17, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    If I have to sit in a queue, as long as I can imagine that I’m causing you Syn to do the same, that’s satisfaction enough…. ;)

    All good times so far.

     

Leave a Reply

 
