RSS

Wrath Releases November 13

15 Sep

And I couldn’t care less.  Read all about it. I’m a two MMO max guy and I’m foreseeing the immediate future to be occupied with WAR and Eve.  Even if I keep WoW active, I’m not sure I’ll run off to Northrend and step onto the next treadmill.  And knowing Blizzard, I can probably safely assume that I’ll have another year or two to cap and explore Lich King before the next expansion (if there is one) will ever see the light of day.

I gotta think that ol’ Blizz is feeling the pressure by timing this announcement (and quite a few other recent announcements) on the heels of every major WAR event.  Three days before WAR’s general release and just before the holidays.  Not since release have they managed to get something out the door in time for the holidays. Go them.

There’s an old adage among runners about “hearing footsteps”.  When you’re in the lead and you start hearing footsteps, you never turn your head to see how close the competition is or you’ll lose the race.  Hard to imagine that Blizz is feeling threatened by WAR, but they certainly seem to be in “reaction mode” (whether they are or not).

Even the cancellation process seems reactive to WAR.  I must say, I’m a bit surprised by Blizz.  Rule #1 is never to admit that you have competition because there are no competitors in your class.  Rule #2 is to run your business so Rule #1 is always true…

Meh.  I’m just grousing because I’m burnt on WoW and can’t log into WAR for another 8 hours.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 15, 2008 in Warhammer Online, World of Warcraft

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Wrath Releases November 13

  1. Rkik

    September 16, 2008 at 5:35 am

    Just wanted to note that the Cancelation message about the “gaudy baubles and trinkets” is no where near new.

    When I canceled WoW for the second time this spring, it was the same message, and I recall there being mention of that line back a few years ago when I was playing City of Heroes.

     
  2. p@tsh@t

    September 16, 2008 at 8:41 am

    Interesting. I hadn’t heard that before, but then again, having kept subs live since release, I never had the opportunity to see it myself.

    Still interesting to see Blizz counter-punching a bit versus doing its own thing.

     
  3. Lucifrank

    September 16, 2008 at 8:47 am

    Yeah, I felt the same ambivalence upon the release of Burning Crusade. However, I did reactivate my WoW account for a few months last Christmas after Vanguard screwed the pooch. Thing is, I tend to be a one-sub man so unless WAR blows chunks I have a feeling its gonna keep me preoccupied for quite some time. And with Mines of Moria to fall back on if all else fails, I think it’ll take quite a bit to rekindle my interest in WoW anytime soon.

     
  4. JoBildo

    September 17, 2008 at 5:14 am

    Hey, were you on last night and did you get into CoW? I don’t recall seeing you, but I could have lost you among the influx of new folks that the HS brought.

     
  5. p@tsh@t

    September 17, 2008 at 8:38 am

    Hey JoBildo. I’m a lurker on the CoW forums but not technically in the guild. Sounds like you guys are having so much fun that I might have to actually apply.

    Saw you and quite a few CoWs on Averheim last night as my wife and I got a few of our toons rolling. Gotta love the handy player search in the social window.

    Looks like there were quite a few CoWs grazing through content in prime time last night…

     
  6. JoBildo

    September 17, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Just put down Wilhelm as a friend, since he is one (I assume, heh) and we can get you signed. I think most of the founders are familiar with you and the fact that you’re buds with His Grand Noobishness. And by way of associated, your wife would be in as well.

    Friends and family referrals FTW.

    It’s getting hard to remember everyone… but we’re fond of community building and getting lots of people together for RvR in the long run, so feel free to sign up.

     

Leave a Reply

 
