RSS

Group Think

13 Sep

Looking for suggestions for so-called “optimal” Warhammer group composition.  I’m hoping our regular WoW group will come over to WAR for a while.  While we’ve been strickly carebear to date, part of the draw to WAR is the RvR, so I’m looking for suggestions for the composition of a static six person group that will do both PvE and RvR.

After doing some RvR, my first impressions are: ranged>melee, and dps>heals, though I’m sure that mileage may vary.  From what I’ve seen high dps groups seem to trump tank/healer heavy combos, but I’m interested in impressions.

If we go heavy ranged, I would think that we’d need something more than one tank to provide some cover for the ranged.

Could a group of six get along without one of the dedicated healing classes (i.e., Rune Priest or Zealot)?  Would say, two warrior priests/arch mages or disciples of Khaine/shaman suffice?

I’m thinking two tanks, two hybrids and two pure dps  or one tank, two hybrids and 3 dps might work but would be very interested in any suggestions.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 13, 2008 in Warhammer Online

 

Tags:

7 responses to “Group Think

  1. Scott

    September 13, 2008 at 1:21 am

    You’re definately going to want at least 1 true tank, and 1 true healer (rune priest/zealot) or 2 warrior priests/disciples. Then mix in any dps, and preferbly some ranged casters like Bright Wizards/Sorceress for hard hitting spells.

    I haven’t seen any instances where I wouldn’t take a healer, or where having another dps class was better than a healer. At least in the early levels healers are way overpowered with how much health they can keep up on themselves and others (especially those like the zealot that can heal on the run). That may change at the higher 20+ lvl’s as the heal debuffs and knockdowns get more common.

     
  2. Tim

    September 13, 2008 at 3:51 am

    From the order side, Arch Mages are just as good of healers as Rune Priests. They’re just less survivable. They have more DPS to make up for their lack of survivability. I’m pretty sure the same holds true for the Shaman and Zealot. I wouldn’t use the DoK/WP since you said it yourself, Range > Melee and those two are only good at healing and damage if they can get to melee.

     
  3. p@tsh@t

    September 13, 2008 at 10:34 am

    Gotta wonder how the melee dpsers and melee healers will get dealt with post launch. Without greater survivability, they will always be at a disadvantage as the have to take fire while closing the gap.

    I haven’t played them too much, but my WP didn’t seem overly tough nor particularly overpowered in the heal department and my wife’s Witch Hunter seems to die quite a bit in RvR. I hear the same about the Witch Elf.

    A decent snare would help (unless they exist and I haven’t seen them yet) so at least once they get to a target they have a chance at taking it down, even if its a one way trip. Otherwise I worry about these ending of as filler or mostly PvE classes…

     
  4. p@tsh@t

    September 13, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Update: Well, I bit the bullet and tried the arch mage in our group tonight to try it out. Despite how I can’t stand the elves in WAR, Tim, I think you’re right. I promptly flew him from the blighted isle to the human starting area where we all agreed to meet up and leveled him though a combination of starter quests, PQs and RvR with our group.

    By the end of the night, I must say, the Yin/Yang heal/harm thing was really starting to click for me. I suspect that I may end up giving this class the starting spot. Having played a RP as well, I didn’t notice much difference in healing output though they are pretty squishy.

    One of my personal favs was a DoT/HoT combo spell that does damage to your offensive target while healing your defensive target. Money.

     
  5. Tobold

    September 14, 2008 at 2:15 am

    I like the archmage / shaman heal mechanic very much, and its extremely useful for both RvR and PvE, solo and groups. Runepriest and zealot are okay healers, but somewhat generic in their gameplay. I didn’t like the warrior priest / disciple of khaine all that much, because you need to be hitting enemies in melee to be able to heal, and that is an unhealthy combo.

    Fully agree with ranged dps beating melee dps, wasn’t too happy with my Bitch Elf. I’m not 100% sure how useful tanks are. Of course you’ll love to have one if you group up for public quests. But his positional “blocking the way to the squishies” function in RvR, based on collision detection, only works really well in the few places with narrow doorways or bridges. Tanks do have useful damage redirection and taunts that diminish damage on others, so a really good tank could still be an asset in RvR. Just be aware that the player needs to learn a skill set much different from playing a tank in WoW or elsewhere.

     
  6. Cyndre

    September 14, 2008 at 5:04 am

    In a perfect world I would go with:

    Shaman/ Zealot
    Disciple of Khaine
    Chosen
    Sorceress
    Magus

    For the final either Marauder, Witchelf or Black Orc.

    But I can say with 100% certainty that every single person you talk to will have a different ‘perfect 6’ which is another reason I’m so impressed with WAR and their class balancing.

     
  7. p@tsh@t

    September 14, 2008 at 9:41 am

    Our Ironbreaker had her Oath Friend buff on a few of the punching bag classes in our scenario and was loving it as they were constantly maxed on grudges and able to deal a good bit of damage.

    I agree that it would take some real coordination and discipline to make a functional shield wall work. In a few pinchpoints like the bridge in Nordenwatch or some of Ekrund it could work, but I’m not holding my breath for any Spartacus-like battles. Mostly it devolved into bouts of silly running about knee bent advancing behavior.

    My favorite moment was using the drain life spell on a witch elf that kept madly hopping around a la WoW while her life slowly drained away in a maypole dance of death.

     

Leave a Reply

 
