RSS

What I Did During the War or…

18 Aug

…Don’t bring a knife to a gun fight.

Seems the aura of cataclysm that shrouds Worlds Collide extends even to the hapless and helpless almost innocent bystander.  There I was minding my own business Sunday morning checking the markets and queuing up skills when Wilhelm logs on to Eve.

Apparently, he was going to take another crack at his level 4 mission Worlds Collide and was looking for some backup.  Now, I’ve been concentrating on getting my mining ops set up to open up the isk floodgates a bit before I start looking for (and affording) a battlecruiser.  So, the only thing I had laying around was a lowly Caracal.

Not a bad little cruiser, but nothing compared to his Raven.  But, what the hell, its insured, kernite is selling well, I’m looking to upgrade soon… how bad could it be?  As I said to Wil before we warped in, “Its a Caracal.”

We warped in, Wil grabbed aggro and…

I became an imbedded reporter recording the battle for posterity.  It was like that fresh faced kid in the war movies that catches the first bullet when the gate of the landing craft first drops after telling you all about how he’s going to marry his high school sweetheart when he gets home and how they have this little piece of land, etc. etc.

Ok, well maybe not like that, but just about as damned fast.  The only way I could have died more quickly was to be an ensign wearing a red shirt.  A moment of silence for the loss of the “Joy Buzzer.”

At least the end came swiftly.  Without any kind of backup mission ship, I hung out and watched at Wil and corp mate Dread face the onslaught.  No spoilers here–You’ll have to read the Noob’s blog for the outcome.

But as the Twilight Cadre’s embedded reporter, I was able to catch a few screenies of the action in a relatively leisurely fashion.

All things considered, it was actually pretty instructive for me to be a fly (or pod as the case may be) on the wall.

My pride was bruised, but my spirit was undaunted.  Let me tell you, its a hell of a lot easier to be “undaunted” when kernite is selling for 350 isk per.

As in all things Eve, each door closing opens another, or maybe the corpses of the fallen feed the fields for future’s bounty.  Like I said, the kernite market has been good and I already had most of the skills (and I needed a new ship), so Wil’s naked aggression and my unbridled noobishness FORCED me, I tell you, to upgrade.

I give you the newest member of the fleet, my shiny new Drake battlecruiser, the “Indefatigable”.

Just as I was about to start fitting it out, Gaff logged on and was looking to run a mission or two.  I had barely purchased the new beast (let alone learned how to fly it) and he patiently waited while I fitted it out with most of a passive tank and what passed for weapons largely out of the random kit in the corp scrap yard.

Although we only ran a few missions, I’m much impressed with the Drake so far and look to be doing much more pew pew.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2008 in Eve Online

 

Tags:

10 responses to “What I Did During the War or…

  1. Kirith Kodachi

    August 19, 2008 at 3:36 am

    You’ll love the Drake, its the utility knife of the Caldari fleet: able to do anything decently.

     
  2. Winged Nazgul

    August 19, 2008 at 4:52 am

    The Drake is truly a beast. You won’t be disappointed.

    I had the same experience tagging along in a level 4 mission during a mission running class Eve University was holding a couple of months ago. Good thing the first thing they told us was to warp out at the first sign of aggro or my frigate would’ve been toast. It truly was a frightening experience for a pilot used to only level 1 missions. But it did inspire me to run level 4’s ASAP and I fast-tracked my skill plan in order to do so. Now I’m soloing them with comparative ease in my Raven.

    Oh, and Kernite is selling for 350isk where?

     
  3. H00LiGAN

    August 19, 2008 at 6:37 am

    On a noob related note, I was thinking of trying out Eve and giving it a go until WAR. Have things improved as far as Eve teaching new people the game?

     
  4. p@tsh@t

    August 19, 2008 at 8:42 am

    @HOOLiGAN: Give the free trial a go and don’t be upset if you don’t get the bug right away. Many come and go and come and go to Eve. The depth is intimidating, but can be quite rewarding. It can be a bit of a shock from the MMO on rails to have to decide what you want to do.

    I haven’t been through the tutorial in quite a while, but reports are that its much more digestible now that even a year ago. Likewise, there are now “welcome” screens on all the key functions that give you an opportunity to quickly redirect to online help resources.

    After a while they get annoying and you can turn them off, but its nice to be one click from relevant help.

    @WN: I’m getting that inspired feeling as well. After running a few higher level missions with Gaff, I can see that the Drake is a hardy and very useful ship.

     
  5. Winged Nazgul

    August 19, 2008 at 10:19 am

    Bah! Looks like I’ll have to track down that Kernite market myself eh? Darn you for not falling into my cleverly disguised trap.

    Hooligan: I highly recommend my corp, Eve University. They do an awesome job of teaching raw noobies all aspects of this game with really no strings attached. At the moment, recruitment is closed due to war but we should be open for business again in a week barring unforeseen circumstances.

     
  6. Gaff

    August 19, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    Potshot–your discipline is mighty! Kernite security level V achieved.

     
  7. Winged Nazgul

    August 20, 2008 at 8:15 am

    http://eve-central.com/ only lists a couple of low-sec systems that are offering that kind of price for Kernite. No way in heck I’m packing an indie full of Kernite into low-sec anytime soon.

    Unless you know something http://eve-central.com/ doesn’t….

     
  8. p@tsh@t

    August 20, 2008 at 8:28 am

    New Eden is a very big place….;)

     
  9. Winged Nazgul

    August 20, 2008 at 11:05 am

    Hmmm, probably barking up the wrong alley then. Instead of buy orders around 350isk, I should look for systems where the lowest sell orders are around 350isk and put up competing bids.

     
  10. p@tsh@t

    August 20, 2008 at 11:50 am

    Unless they are all private contracts…

     

Leave a Reply

 
