RSS

Fumbling for the controls

08 Aug

Ahh, Eve.

So I’ve been anxiously anticipating getting skilled up for the last week or so for a new mining platform–  a Retriever.  My Osprey has been performing yeoman service since I can’t remember, so this is somewhat of a big deal for me.

Of course, I have two characters– a Caldari that up until now has been the main miner and mission runner and a Minmatar I later rolled to do the hauling and to eventually grow into the primary mining role.  That day had come.  Or so I thought.

With the arrival of the Retriever, I’ve been anticipating and preparing for somewhat of a role reversal for these two.  Not terribly well as it turns out.

The original plan was to have the Caldari train up for an Iteron V hauler with the thought that in the future, a fully fitted Itty V would be better than the tricked out Mammoth I’ve been using.  That of course requires training a host of Gallente skills my Caldari didn’t yet have.

No worries, how long could that take?  Quite a while apparently.  Forty five days given my current skill set (more on that later).  Certainly much longer than it was going to take to get the Minmatar in the Retriever.

Ok, well then, what would it take to make the Caldari Mammoth-capable?  Nine days.  Hrm.  Ok, what industrial CAN he fly?  Badger Mark II.  Ok, that’s not too bad and fitted with Expanded Cargohold IIs and 4 GSCs, its not an unbearable set back.  Certainly a step down from the Mammoth, but bearable.

Itty V becomes Plan B.  But who cares?  I’ve got a Retriever now!  Just need to fit it out– couple of strips, more Expanded Cargohold IIs and wimpy Civvy shield booster.  Hrm.  Maybe I better think about cap and CPU skills on my way to Hulk.  At least it has drones.  And without anything else to defend myself, I’ll need them.

A couple of short hops to pick up necessary items and I was ready to put the new team to work on all that sweet sweet kernite I knew was just out there.  Except it wasn’t.

Not in the first system.  Nor the second.  Nor the third.  Nor the fourth.  Nor the fifth.  Ok, you get the picture.

Some nights are like that and this was only going to be a maiden voyage, so I’ll just go back to my home system and blast away at some pyrox to see how the new rig handles.

Out to the belts, lock target, mine away.  First pass was a nice big haul.  Oops.  A rat.  And a wee rat at that.  Better get those drones working.  I had loaded up with Hobgoblins since they had been so useful with the Osprey, I almost never needed to fire missiles.

Launch drones.  Uh oh.  Apparently someone didn’t train up scout drones on the Minmatar yet…  So, with barely two passes, I had to turn tail and warp to base as I was defenseless (unless you consider a tractor beam on the Badger II “offensive”).

On the bright side, that gives me some immediate training goals to get the new team up to snuff.  In the course of all this skill introspection, I discovered that in my relentless pursuit of new pimp rides and things that go pew, I’ve sorely neglected my learning skills.

I certainly hadn’t followed anything like an optimal schedule.  I had previously skilled a bunch up, but other than what the toon came with and the few that I became aware of, I hadn’t really focused too much on it.

Eve Mon has changed all that.  One of the great features of Eve Mon is that when creating a skill training plan, it will make suggestions to add or increase certain learning skills to shorten the entire process.  This has done a great job of making me more aware of what is out there and I might be lacking.

The second great feature is that when you click on a character’s skill, Eve Mon shows you what attributes affect that skill’s training speed.

So, its very easy to see what kind of learning skills to work on if you want to speed that process up. Maybe it doesn’t matter so much for the first few ranks of a skill, but as those IVs and Vs start to creep in your schedule, the differentials can be enormous.  The difference between months and weeks or weeks and days.

And what better to do while mining than hitting the books?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2008 in Eve Online

 

Tags:

6 responses to “Fumbling for the controls

  1. Letrange

    August 8, 2008 at 10:37 am

    EvE without EvE-Mon is like the Himalayas without a Sherpa.

     
  2. Letrange

    August 8, 2008 at 11:18 am

    I will make the observation that doing this a few times will eventually cause you to change your patterns. These days I’m much more of a “Humm, what modules will I need before I’m able to fly that ship and not be a noob in it?”. Then I build skill plans to get all the modules I”ll need to a certain point. Then another skill plan to get the actual ship. It makes it much less embarrassing the first time you get in that ship.

    Course this is the reason I don’t fly BS’s yet. Still getting all the supporting skills in place. Will be for a few months. BUT when I do get in one I’ll be able to kick ass with it :)

     
  3. p@tsh@t

    August 8, 2008 at 11:34 am

    Yes, the next best thing to Eve Mon is the Eve Fitting Tool which I’ve been using much more frequently to avoid just what you’re talking about.

    Of course the one thing I didn’t drop in to my test setup was the hobgoblins…

     
  4. Gaff

    August 8, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    Grats on your barge. I feel your pain. I think I have several months of needed skill upgrades, and have spent all the time since I got mine training learning skills. On another note, did you check to see how long to train both of them on a barge? I may go that route as it is about 9 days, and in Amarr space, I never have anyone snoop my can. Hrm, that sounded dirty…

     
  5. p@tsh@t

    August 8, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    Well, without any additional learning upgrades, the Caldari could be Retriever-compliant in about 15D. The Caldari is also headed for battleships too, but that’s quite some time away.

    The Minmatar could be Covetor ready in 69 days or Hulk ready in 71 days. Hulk/Exhumers is where I’m headed, so I just need to shrink that number (oh, and come up with the isk in the mean time…) With “suggested” learning skill ups that comes down to about 53 days.

    I suppose plan number B could also be to Ferox up as a hybrid miner/cap for protection and run to the hauler when the can gets full… I haven’t fully decided on logistics yet.

    While I’ve seen a few non-miners in the belts in high sec Amarr, I too have not experienced any can sniffing out there yet. As I recall, I got flipped a few times in Caldari space when I was in a wee frigate.

     
  6. Winged Nazgul

    August 11, 2008 at 6:57 am

    Grats on the Barge. With the steady income from level 4 missions and my trading alts, I pulled the trigger last night on buying and outfitting myself a mining Rokh. It’s no Hulk but with 8 Miner II’s and 3 MLU’s, it will do until I finally get around to training for one.

     

Leave a Reply

 
