RSS

Expansion of the Fleet

27 Jul

Kernite mining seems to be hit and miss.  On alternate nights this last week, it was feast or famine in a few of the “usual” systems my team has been mining.  The tough part is that the market for kernite is SO much better than nearly anything else that for woosies like myself, it more time effective to either spend the time hunting through systems for it, or wait it out for a lucky respawn.

Part of the problem, however, is that I ditched everything other than what I really needed in the big move to Amarr space.  So, I had no mission runner.

While I’m trained to battlecruisers, my budget isn’t.  But that’s only part of the problem– out here no one knows me.  Many agents, but understandably, most not available to me.  So while waiting for the kernite fairy to arrive, I thought I’d bite the bullet and get a mission runner fitted out and try to find an agent that would have me.

A cruiser was in my budget, so I went for the Caracal.  Nothing quite so satisfying as letting loose a barrage of five missiles on a foe and see him destroyed before the last one hit.  And of course, I didn’t want to strand my mining rig half way across the universe, so I picked up a shuttle for the trip, so that’s two new ships.

Finding an agent was more of a challenge.  When in doubt, turn to the Eve community.  In this case, I simply googled “finding an agent in eve” and Wilhelm’s post on the topic came up.  I’m sure there are lots of ways to do it, but his worked flawlessly.

With no real reputation out there, I figured I’d have to work my way up, so I thought I’d shill for the Amarr navy for a while.  The agent was just a few jumps away, so off I went to rid the system of some Minmatar-terrorist scum (not a word to my alt).

Everything was going fine.  Until I took the next mission which required chasing these scum through a series of acceleration gates.  No problem.  Been there, done that.  Ooop.  Cruiser wont fit through the gate.  I remembered (too late) this from before.  Some missions are ship-restricted.  In this case, Frigates or destroyers, but no cruisers.

So being more budget minded, I added a Kestrel to my rapidly growing fleet.  Make that three new ships.  And of course, though I took the cruiser to pick it up thinking I could use most of the fittings, alas, no.  Another series of jumps back to base to rummage through the hangar for some frigate-appropriate fittings.

Kestrel fitted, more or less, I finished the mission in question and continued along the chain.  Where the next mission would have probably been doable a) by someone competent or b) by someone with a bigger ship and me being neither, my Kestrel was reduced to floating scrap in short order.

That’s what get for being cheap.  I was about to hang it up for the day, when I thought, “hey, maybe I can use the Caracal…”  With the cruiser being parked only a jump away, I plodded my pod back to base and picked up the big boy.

Fortunately, the mission wasn’t ship-restricted, so I was able to both finish the mission and loot my own floating hulk (something I hadn’t done before if you can imagine).  With insurance, the loss of the frigate was just an annoyance.

After a few missions, at least the Amarr navy is glad to see me come calling now.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 27, 2008 in Eve Online

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Expansion of the Fleet

  1. Scott

    July 27, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Don’t forget to raise your Social & Connections skills to 3-4 if you haven’t already, they’ll save you a load of time grinding through boring lvl 1 & 2 missions. Should get you into level 3 missions within 3-7 days of running lvl 2’s.

     
  2. p@tsh@t

    July 27, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    Great suggestion. I tend to sprinkle shorter skills in when I’m on and go for the longer ones (big ship upgrades) while offline. This is a perfect one to do.

    Probably takes longer, but makes me feel like I’m making more progress. Shorter intermediate goals in pursuit of a longer one. E.g., I upped my hull upgrades to enable expanded cargo hold IIs. Since I’m not in danger of having the isk for the next set of ships, that will just increase my hauling capacity and reduce “downtime” while mining.

    Thanks for the tip.

     
  3. Scott

    July 29, 2008 at 2:08 am

    Yeah, I do exactly the same thing with my main/active character, there’s always short skills that are really needed and necessary, good to train those up till they take more than a day or two. I always want a 20d/30d skill available just in case I suspend my account for a month so that’s training while i’m not playing.

    I just started doing missions myself around the forge a few weeks ago so I’m probably not too far ahead of you as I just got into lvl3’s with a few of the corps. Getting those social skills up helped tremendously, also if you running caldari lvl 1/2’s it’s probably best if you ignore loot/salvage at least till 3’s, or preferbly lvl4’s. Not really worth the time, better to just get the standing faster.

    Most of that’s on hold now though, as I’ve been sucked into the Faction War with Caldari. Definately good experience for low-sec fleet combat, several good fleet commanders around. I’ve already got a decent ship fleet readied with about 10 kestrels, 3 caracals, 3 drakes, 1 scorpion, 1 raven readied for combat. I went kinda overboard with preparations but was expecting losses. ;)

    While FW is rather pointless in its current implementation, I do commend CCP for adding it, this is the best thing the gave has seen for getting hi-sec players involved in low-sec PvP actively, and should lead to many moving on permantly into low-sec or 0.0 as they get a feel for it and want more.

     

Leave a Reply

 
