RSS

Magic 8-Blog

23 Jul

More Eve on the brain today.  One of the things that is so intriguing and frustrating about the game is the complexity.  Its open ended and very granular.  It seems there are always about a billion additional things you want to know about skill upgrades, ships, fitting them out, etc.

Like many activities, simply having access to all the bits does not an X make.  I can walk into any REI and walk out with gear that would let me go climb Mount Everest (or at least Denali).  Access =/ achievement.  Some how, some where, some way you have to figure out HOW TO DO IT.

Eve is pretty interesting in that its one of the few games that is alternately brutal and forgiving regarding “mistakes.”  Take, for example, a time about a year ago when with less than 1.5 million skill points, my poor eye sight and disengaged brain allowed me to purchase a new clone.

Literally, a “nu” clone.  For the uninitiated, a clone allows you to preserve your skill points in the event you get podded (killed).  The default “alpha” clone gives you protection up to 900k I think.  So when I realized I had crossed that boundary, I decided to get an upgrade.

Neglecting to see the high school geometry logic in the nomenclature, instead of going for a “beta” or “gamma” clone, I somehow decided I needed a “nu”.  Mistaking 25 thousand for 25 MILLION and the skill point rating and price columns put me in my “nu” lifetime clone with a 25 million skill point capacity.

The worst part was that I had just enough money to afford it, and Eve dutifully let me purchase it without batting an eye lash.  I can’t remember now what the price was, but it was most of the ISK I had at the time.  Poof!  Gone forever.  Unforgiving.

On the other hand, buying fittings or even a ship that you can’t use (yet) or don’t need is seldom fatal and often not even inconvenient.  Simply relist the item and you might actually make a profit.  This is a good thing when you think you need something only to find out you can’t equip it, or you can’t equip more than ONE of them on your ship, or there are 50 of them sitting in your corp’s “Free Stuff” hangar, etc.

Which brings me to the real point of the post.  Wilhelm has often remarked about the mighty power of the blogosphere when it comes to Eve.  Turn your blog upside down, shake, ask your Eve-related question and out pops answers.  The good community of Eve players that read blogs will point you in the right direction and offer sagely bits of often hard earned lore.

So in that vein, I’ve got a few questions.

I’m two boxing mining ops right now.  I have a Mammoth hauler on one toon and an Osprey miner on the other.  I’m mostly mining in high sec space.

I’m looking for suggestions on outfitting the Mammoth.  Its filled with hand-me-down fittings right now, but I’m looking for improvement.  I think I’ve basically got a Miner II, a couple of warp core stabilizers, an afterburner, a shield booster or two and a couple of expanded cargo hold Is on it.

Basically, I do tag team jet can mining using the Osprey with three Miner IIs to fill up the Mammoth.  The Mammoth then makes runs to base to dump the load when full.  When waiting for a load, I fire up single mining laser to speed things along.

I don’t plan on fighting anything with the Mammoth, so any suggestions to increase incidental mining ability, hauling capacity, speed or escapability would be appreciated.

Likewise, with the Osprey, I have three Miner IIs and a missile turret for defense.  BUT, ever since I figured out how to use drones effectively, I don’t really use the turret much when rats show up.  Should I swap that out for another Miner II?

Finally, whats a good upgrade for the Osprey as a miner?  I have one toon working his way toward a mining barge, but that’s a way off.  Any ideas will be appreciated!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2008 in Eve Online

 

Tags:

9 responses to “Magic 8-Blog

  1. Winged Nazgul

    July 23, 2008 at 10:21 am

    You need a turret hardpoint for another Miner II and the Osprey only has 3 so you can’t replace your Missile Launcher with it.

    If you want to maximize your Osprey, keep the launcher and get 4 Mining Drones, and max out the Mining laser Upgrade II’s.

    This should last you until you can train for a Retriever or Covetor mining barge.

     
  2. Bellatroix

    July 23, 2008 at 11:19 am

    Couple thoughts:

    If you’re in a system that’s not very busy are you are a little more risk tolerant, have the second account train up to use an osprey as well and just dump ore into a jetcan. When the jetcan gets relatively full, pop back to a station on your second account, grab your hauler, come get the big load, drop off and hop back in the osprey. This leaves the chance for someone to flip your jetcan but I’ve found this doesn’t really happen that often in the sparser systems and even losing a can or two is probably better in the long run since you’ll be mining more. Just make sure you read up on jetcan flipping behavior and make sure you don’t flag yourself to someone if you can’t afford losing a ship (the usual motto of don’t fly what you can’t afford applies). With that method, I’d just have the Mammoth fitted with cargo expanders and maybe a tractor beam. It’ll only be in space for a bit and shouldn’t really need to do much else besides warp to your miner, pick up can, warp to station.

    Second, the mining barges are pretty awesome if you’re training up for those. If you happen to be thinking about cross training for combat, some battlecruisers and quite a few battleships actually make *excellent* mining ships. A combination of more high slots for Miner IIs and more CPU and low slots for mining upgrades can make them easily outmine an Osprey or similar mining cruiser.

    My 2 ISK. :)

     
  3. Winged Nazgul

    July 23, 2008 at 11:26 am

    Battleships require a similar training investment to Mining Barges. Since you said you were going for a Mining Barge, I didn’t think to mention this alternative. If you decide to go BS, A Rokh makes a pretty good mining platform.

    Also, see about squeezing as many Giant Secure Containers as you can into your Mammoth. Each one nets you 900 m3 more cargo capacity.

     
  4. Letrange

    July 23, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    Humm I seem to recall a 5 laser cyclone that was on par with my retriever (oh the carpal tunnel though). If you’re dual boxing ih a thief infested area remember to use a single GSC as a transfer station (anchor and PW). The proper use of GSCs are not as multiple ore drop off points but as transfer stations to your haulers.

     
  5. Marchosias

    July 23, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    You’ll definitely want to get as many of those Giant Secure Cans in your Mammoth’s cargo hold that you can. Wilhelm knows how to max out that cargo bay so you can haul an entire jet-can in one haul.

    I dual boxed and think I went directly from an Osprey into a Retriever for my miner (and eventually into a Hulk). My Mammoth pilot ended up sitting in a battle-cruiser most of the time after his mining forman skills got up high enough for that to make a big difference in mining output – I’d mine up to a full jet can, and then send him back to base to start hauling with the Mammoth.

    Eventually I endedu up triple boxing with a miner, a booster, and a dedicated hauler using the “hand-me-down” Mammoth. And in this config, I can easily clear enough ISK to “pay” for the third account using CCP’s in-game ISK to GameTime transfer thing – I just started doing this, so I can’t remember the exact terminology for that. Anyways, here’s my old duo set-up: http://lemegeton.wordpress.com/2008/05/14/my-eve-ride/

    Enjoy!

     
  6. Letrange

    July 23, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    Well a mammoth with 4 Expanded Cargohold II’s, 3 Cargohold Optimization I rigs in it at Minmatar Industrial 5 can hold 28.2 k m3 (Jet cans are 27.5 k m3). Hope it doesn’t get ganked… A more cost effective jet can alternative is to get a gallente character as your hauler alt and get skilled up to gallente industrial 5, that ship only need 1 rig to be jet can capable so is much more affordable.

    Incidentally one reason to avoid a hold full of GSCs is the carpal tunnel issue. Try it for a while and you’ll see what I mean.

     
  7. p@tsh@t

    July 23, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    All great suggestions. Thanks folks!

     
  8. phoe

    July 23, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    A few links for you in your EVE travels, I found them to be invaluable.

    First, halada’s complete miners guide: http://www.lsjv-eve.com/completeminersguide_v2.2.pdf
    it has everything you’ve ever wanted to know about mining in eve and more, with all sorts of math and calculations to back up his talk.

    Second, toxicfire’s ore map: http://www.fluidorbit.co.uk/
    A wonderful database site that will let you look up what kinda roids you wanna harvest, where they are, what security the systems are and what kinda rats your going to see in that system.

    Third, ombey’s 2d maps: http://dl.eve-files.com/media/corp/ombey/Eve_Regions.pdf
    It’s a wonderful tool if you want to print them out and have them around your computer area.

    Lastly, EVE forum link for the new player that I found absolutely wonderfull: http://myeve.eve-online.com/ingameboard.asp?a=topic&threadID=798823
    I found much of the information there extremely handy when I was starting out, so fear not, we’ve all been at the confused newbie stage at one point or another. Thats what this info is here for.

     
  9. p@tsh@t

    July 24, 2008 at 9:14 am

    @phoe: Thanks for the links. When you come in and out of Eve only every so often, so much of the details get lost by the wayside. Especially the stuff you haven’t had the need to use or figure out yet.

    This is helpful. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
