RSS

If You Don’t Have Anything Nice to Say…

13 Jul

Boy oh boy do the summer doldrums continue.  Unbearably hot weather and the all consuming fires of hell devouring our fair state of California puts the kaibosh on most fun outdoor activities.  Almost a recipe for an extensive gaming jag– not unlike those short day, long stormy nights of winter that almost force you to game to excess.

Sad to say, I haven’t had that itch much.  More acccurately, I’ve had the itch, just found nothing much to scratch it of late.  When I start digging through the old game box, you know its bad.

I got into the beta of Wizard101 which many have mentioned of late.  I’ve explored a bit, but am loath to say more without having explored more.  Suffice it to say the turn based card combat is interesting and a new twist.

To show you how bad it is, Mrs. P and I picked up a couple of shooters for the CONSOLE and we are anything but console players.  We do enjoy a good run around and shoot em up from time to time, but its like eating popcorn– great as a snack, but unless you’re still in college, hardly a meal.

Summer vacation schedules has kept the WoW group on informal status of late.  With our self imposed level cap removed, the horses, now unleashed, largely remain at the gate.  I’ve mentioned it before, but doing anything outside of an instance in WoW as a group is almost shooting yourself in the foot, groin and then head.  Diligent progress can be made as a group, but it pales in comparison to any focused solo effort.

As I managed to ding 69 and get a good way into the level, I did start to get that horse-to-stable itch.  One. More. Level.  20 chiclets… Its pretty tempting and watching the bar slowly progress from left to right on its (for now) last march has got me in that “lets just get it over” mood though I’ll see if it lasts.

Oh, I guess I should say something about Warhammer and the recent hoo dee doo.  I told you so.  Actually I didn’t, but lacking sufficient insight as to whether the sky has fallen with the announcement that 4 classes are getting cut and 4 out of 6 capital cities wont be in at launch, all I can really comment on is the fact that EA Mythic-no-just-call-me-Mythic has even less cred now.  Assuming launch is actually coming, seems like a crappy interview is probably the last place to Make a Major Announcement.  But then again, they’ve been blathering incessant jibberish for three hype-filled years, I guess I shouldn’t be surprised when they developers run out of unobtainium to finish all the features marketing sold to the public over the last few years.  Of course how could the hype about the hype ever live up to the reality about the hype?

Another week or two like this and I think it might be about time to reload Age of Kings.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2008 in General, Warhammer Online, World of Warcraft

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “If You Don’t Have Anything Nice to Say…

  1. Marchosias

    July 14, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    I think Mythic may have been a bit over confident in their WAR predictions since in DAoC they had already successfully launched a game that had 32 classes and 3 capitol cities – at launch. And it currently runs with 45 classes, and 9 capitol cities. The only thing I can figure is they’ve gone with a totally craptastic “graphically intense” engine that cannot do what they’ve already achieved with their old “clunky graphics” servers – which really aren’t all that bad – on par with EQ2, though not LoTRO nor AoC.

    Oh well, I wasn’t really expecting 6 capitol cities anyways, I was hoping for at least 3 or 4 though, two is kinda lame. And removing difficult to balance classes is ok as well. It MAY keep the nerf-bat whines down a bit, even still I expect some templates will quickly be found that are overpowered and they’ll reap nerf luvin. Stuff like that rarely shows it’s head until the “true masses” TM get their grubby little hands on the virtual world.

    I’m just keeping my fingers crossed that it will be at least as good of a launch as say… Guild Wars or City of Heroes. Those two seemed to be pretty smooth. WoW was awful: 4-6 hour login queues only to get kicked off due to zone crashes with too many peeps in one area, grrr! Or AC2, getting “rubber banded” back to where you were 3-minutes ago, usually agro’d to a mob that you passed at the time. Or just the total “I don’t get it” that was Tabula Rasa… Only time will tell

    –Marko

     
  2. saylah

    July 15, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    LOL and AC2 rubberbanding! That used to get me quite often. What about lagging off steps and such to your death. Now that was annoying as heck. The poor FPS rates which they couldn’t fix to save their lives game me my first episode of motion sickness within a game. Strange times. But man I loved playing that game and hanging with the guildies.

     
  3. Thallian

    July 17, 2008 at 9:15 am

    I need to check that wizard game out so many people like it…

    p.s. plz come check out my blog and give me some ideas if you have any for the game Anton and I are making. Ty :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
