RSS

Blog Faded

26 Jun

Boy, have I become blog faded.

Simple fact of it is, I’m just not compelled to spout off about anything much going on in the gamespace right now.  Conan is out, I’m not playing it and I really don’t care to read or participate in the Conan Rocks v. Conan Sucks debate, nor the perpetual discussion about polish.

Seriously, the most drama the MMOgosphere seems to be able to drum up is who would win in a steel cage match:  Tobold or Richard Bartle?  See what I mean? Its like the dreaded August in journalism– a non news month.

Blizzard’s super announcement in coming up in a few days, but whatever it is, we wont actually see it for a few years in all likelihood if past is precedent for Blizzard.  Seriously, today’s modern hype machines just wear you out sometimes years in advance of a release.

Warhammer? Meh.

Wrath of the Lich King?  Meh.

I’ve still been playing a number of games.  Our WoW group marches on as we are all on the verge of hitting 70.  We have an extended instance hiatus coming up, so I respecced shadow and am having fun face melting.  That’s rekindled a bit of interest but not any kind of must-play feeling.

I’ve fired up EQ2 again and am making steady progress though I continue to resist writing about EQ2 v. WoW v. everything else.  Covered ground and I’m not likely to provide much entertaining insight.  Suffice it to say, I’m having a decent enough time and the frequency of rewards at the lower levels is enough right now to keep it entertaining.

Work ebbs and flows, so its not like its keeping me from gaming or blogging.  So it feels like maybe a little break or low input period is just what i need.

Mrs. P and I are backfilling various movies and TV series we’ve missed or not seen in proper order courtesy of Netflix.  We thoroughly enjoyed HBO’s Rome and have moved on to Battlestar Galactica since we didn’t get caught up when it first came out, or should I say the new series first came out.  Fortunately or unfortunately, I watched all the originals in the 70’s with Richard Hatch, Dirk Benedict and yes, Lorne “Don’t call me Ben Cartwright” Greene.

Also spending a lot of time out in the vegetable garden, biking about and starting and finishing a never ending series of home improvement tasks.  There must be some serious malaise in the MMO world if digging ditches, pouring concrete and building fences in 90 degree (F) heat is a more compelling proposition than sitting down to kill ten rats.

And so, rather than posting for posting’s sake… I let the blog battery recharge a bit.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 26, 2008 in General

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Blog Faded

  1. carpera

    June 27, 2008 at 8:22 am

    Gah! It’s annoying to have to create a WordPress account to post on your blog…

    Anyway, I saw you mentioned using NetFlicks. My wife and I have recently discovered our (relatively small town) library in Ohio has an extensive selection of Movies and seasons of TV shows on DVD and as a result have been catching up on lots of that stuff we have missed.

    I highly recommend checking out what your library has.

    What surprised me even more is they have video games you can check out. Our son is currently playing an educational game for second graders for the pc. Our library also has console games that you can check out (Wii, etc.)

     
  2. p@tsh@t

    June 27, 2008 at 9:30 am

    Thanks for the tip. And more importantly thanks for pointing out the hassle commenting.

    It wasn’t my intention to require folks to have a wordpress account to comment.

    Interestingly, the rules for commenting– whether to hold and moderate, whether to require a name and email, etc. are in one place in the admin settings but another “require users to log in to comment” is in entirely another!

    Annoying. Anyway, that’s been nuked so hopefully folks wont be put off by that now. I know it annoys me on other sites when that happens.

     
  3. Talyn

    June 28, 2008 at 6:36 am

    Glad you’re back! Yeah, summer’s kind of a dry spot for gaming. Probably better that way, though. I mentally pummel myself when I had plans to go to the beach and pop into a game for “just a few minutes” then suddenly it’s afternoon and the storms are rolling in… *boo hiss*

     
  4. mrrx

    July 18, 2008 at 10:57 am

    Blog Faded……. is that a new meme running around ? I like the term.

    Back in the dawn of prehistory when I started my incredibly-focused Everquest blog nobody else was doing what I did. NOBODY. Today I’m sure there are at least a dozen for any particular game and so many others that cover multiple ones like we all seem to have migrated on to doing.

    Enjoy the garden. Going outside occasionally is good. Occasionally.

     

Leave a Reply

 
