RSS

Winter respite

11 Feb

Ah winter. Yes, winter.

The usually somewhat grey and occasionally wet that is a Northern California winter has granted us a bit of a respite in the form of mostly sunny, mid-sixties (F = 18C) weather. Inevitably each year seems to have a wee break from winter sometime between the middle of January and the middle of February giving us a hint of spring to come before returning to our monsoonal winter weather until April.

So, with the sun out, its too tempting not to climb out of the game cave to enjoy it while it lasts, hence the dearth of posts of late. Likewise, after the release and mild disappointment of PotBS, there is not much on my gaming radar now other than our WoW group and related alts.

Loyal readers may recall that four of us migrated to a new server to start our instance group leaving behind a couple of then-capped sixties and miscellaneous alts. Quite a few alts stuck near the old level 40 doldrums. With the 2.3 patch, however, those alts have been released from purgatory, so I thought I’d actually try Blizzard’s paid character transfer and bring my 40-something hunter to the new server.

Paid character transfer costs $25 which is probably about $20 too much IMHO. Still, considering what MMO companies think they can get away with for a whole crappy game, its cheap for the additional gameplay it would provide to me on the same server as friends and guildies.

So, with no other games on the radar worth playing right now, I bit the bullet and did the transfer. All in all it was painless and only took about 20 minutes on a weekend. I spent a few minutes loading him up with gold (it varies, but I could take up to 5,000 gold with me on this guy) and items from my other toons and then went to the WoW paid character transfer page. Some restrictions apply:

pct.png

A few clicks and it told me it was awaiting approval. Blizzard has a handy timeline that lets you know the current status:

timeline.png

Despite the warning about taking days to complete, or the 1 hour approval time, it only took about 20 minutes. Once approved, I had to confirm the transfer (that’s the point it bills you) and voila! I logged in to see him in the character selection screen on the new server. When I first logged, I had to change his name since it was already taken on that server, but no big whoop, I was expecting that. Painless.

And what a difference 2.3 has made. My hunter was 43 when he came across and with modest play, I’ve managed to get him to just a hair under 49 in about a week– all while dropping old professions and taking up mining and engineering. The run from 50-60 always felt faster than 40-50 to me at least, so I suspect he’ll be exploring in the Outlands before too long.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 11, 2008 in General, World of Warcraft

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Winter respite

  1. tenfoldhate

    February 12, 2008 at 9:41 am

    Yeah, I bit the bullet when I started up WoW again a month ago. I had an undead lock I’d created on my main’s alliance server (Eldre’Thalas) who’d just been collecting dust for over a year. A few RL friends started playing horde on Sen’jin, so I paid the $25 and it took under an hour before I was running around spamming corruption and life tapping on a new server.

    Though it seems like a hefty fee in my eyes considering all it is is a transfer of information, it’s definitely worth it in the long run.

     
  2. p@tsh@t

    February 12, 2008 at 11:43 am

    Absolutely. I kind of choke on saying its worth it for the fee, but when I even consider reupping any number of subscriptions I have out there that I shut off, $15 bucks doesn’t really stack up by comparison.

    People can love or hate WoW because of its style, etc., but as a service business, Blizzard actually gets it. Execution counts and they execute extraordinarily well.

    Despite few minor problems that crop up from time to time, comparatively, its been rock solid for a very long time now. Just check into other games from time to time and evaluate the user (not the player) experience and compare.

    My SoE/PotBS experience was not unlike that with EQ2. Poor implementation compounded by poor communication, poorly executed. Gah.

     
  3. dmosbon

    March 1, 2008 at 3:59 am

    Funny but I have only just read this post Potshot & I have a similar view to the paid character transfer in WoW WoW paid character transfer…a service or swindle?

     
  4. p@tsh@t

    March 1, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    I have to say the service was excellent, but why do games which thrive on community constantly throw up hurdles to allowing people to play together?

    Its not like they can’t police server population numbers and lets face it, its not really doing anything to slow down gold farming. As a matter of fact, there’s a good argument that allowing transfers more freely (subject to population restrictions solely for performance reasons) the economy would be much less volatile as prices would reflect game-wide demand, etc.

    Still, I grudgingly paid for it and its been worth it for me so far.

     

Leave a Reply

 
