RSS

Pirates of the Burning Sea Pre-Boarding Party

06 Jan

For those of you who bought a pre-order of Pirates of the Burning Sea, the exclusive Pre-Boarding period starts tomorrow at 10 a.m. Pacific time. The Pre-Boarding period runs until retail launch on January 22 and you get to roll your characters over to the full retail launch.

The pre-order comes with a Pre-Boarding Party key and a Landing Party key. You need to enter the Pre-Boarding key to get into the game tomorrow. Save the Landing Party key for the full launch later this month. Rev from FLS has posted a FAQ here.

I tried logging in today in hopes that I could at least get the patching done. The FLS forums said that if you had done the open beta, you didn’t have to redownload the client, just patch, enter your pre-boarding key and you’d be off to the races.

Apparently that race will only start tomorrow at 10 a.m. I fired up the client this morning and gritted my teeth as I watched the SOE launcher do whatever the hell it does, taking the inordinate amount of time that it does to do it and was finally presented with the PotBS login which allowed me to enter my existing Station Name.

Unfortunately, when I entered my Pre-Boarding key it simply said “Key entry error.  Please retry or confirm the dates when your key is active.”  Surfing the forums, I was able to find a post  confirming my worst fear.  Yup, no one can enter their key or start patching until 10 a.m. Pacific time tomorrow.  *cringe*

Hopefully, the mad rush will not cripple the patcher like it has in the past, but I’m less than optimistic.  Would have been nice to simply let everyone get the game installed, patched and keyed over a weekend, but not open the servers until 10 a.m. on Monday.  But then again, that makes too much sense.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

11 responses to “Pirates of the Burning Sea Pre-Boarding Party

  1. Gaff

    January 6, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    Yea, I noticed that too. Of course, we will all be at work so I am not betting on being in until Tuesday. Which server are you going to be playing? I have the preorder and should be on as Gaff–let me know where to go! However, I am married so I have probably been to your first choice…

     
  2. p@tsh@t

    January 6, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    Cool. Haven’t decided on a faction or server yet. Applying Wilhelm’s rule though, pick the server with the least popular appearing name.

    Server info is here.

    US:
    Blackbeard
    Rackham
    Morgan
    Kidd
    Antigua
    Guadeloupe
    Bonny

    Based on this list, I’m guessing Guadeloupe or Bonny is probably the least “cool” therefore the least subject to high pop issues– lag, asshats, etc.– though the economy may lag.

    Likewise, France seemed ever underpopulated during beta while everyone wanted to be Lord Nelson or a Pirate…

    Any preference Gaff? Wil?

     
  3. Gaff

    January 6, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    I like Bonny. Lets go Bonny. Do we need to be the same faction to work together? If so, tell me what to be! I have stayed purposefully ignorant of this game–just saw screenshots tonight actually.

     
  4. Wilhelm2451

    January 6, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    Wilhelm’s rules of server choice:

    Never pick this first one on the list
    Never pick the last one on the list
    Always pick one the hardest to pronounce and/or spell

    Given that, I vote Guadeloupe, since most people will assume it rhymes with cantaloupe.

     
  5. p@tsh@t

    January 6, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    Well, I guess I was right for the wrong reasons.

    I was leaning toward Guadeloupe myself, so I think we trump the Gaff. We do need to be all the same faction though. Sticking with the underpop theory, I vote for France. Allez nous.

    Vive Le Cadre Crepusculaire!

     
  6. Gaff

    January 7, 2008 at 4:15 am

    I will go Guad, sounds like a Bonny choice to me. As for France, I must invoke my adherence to the Auld Alliance, and beg that I be considered a Scottish ally for the duration of our subscriptions. If I get in tonight I will make the appropriate choices.

     
  7. p@tsh@t

    January 7, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    Auld indeed, but maybe a wee bit young to be in service of Bonnie Prince Charlie.

     
  8. Gaff

    January 7, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    Just got home and went to the preboarding site–for those of us not in the beta it appears to be three 1.75 gig files, then the appropriate installation of said files, and afterwards lets hope no patching….

    If the flow of data remains stable, I may actually get to play tonight!

     
  9. Wilhelm2451

    January 7, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    We had a power blip today that meant I had to restart the downloads, but they are now moving along!

     
  10. p@tsh@t

    January 7, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    Yeargh. Still stuck at Workgatory.

     

Leave a Reply

 
