RSS

Mudflation is Alive and Well in Azeroth

10 Sep

Our long lost fifth for WoW came back online recently, albeit in a more challenging timezone. Nevertheless, we decided to get the band back together again and finish exploring Azeroth with our dedicated little band five of adventurers.

I’ll leave it to Wilhelm to continue the chronicles of our adventures, but after a brief return, I’ve noticed a few changes. I think we mothballed our group when our tank was called out of town in late March or early April, so fair to say, its been a while.

At the end of March, The Burning Crusade had been out just a little over two months. Now coming up on eight months since its release, I think its fair to say that the mudflation in its various forms is alive and well. In Azeroth, the effect seems to be to inflate commodity prices with the copious amounts of Outland-bucks that are raining down from space. Couple that with the depopulation of Azeroth and things get a bit weird.

Checking in this weekend to see just what my main and alts still had in their bags and bank, I decided I’d declutter a bit and hit the auction house. Yes, file under the “stating the obvious”, but the sticker shock is still a bit jarring.

A few reference prices from the AH:

Thick Leather (20): 6G

Mithril Bar (20): 19G

Super Healing Potion (5): 18G

Mountain Silversage (20): 20G

Golden Sansam (20): 17G

And there doesn’t seem to be a tremendous amount of these commodities available in any event. The few auctions I posted with these now mid-level materials sold very quickly at buy out prices very close to this.

Hard to believe that about 5 measely stacks of mithril = 1 mount these days. To be fair, for the few random quest turn ins that had some monetary rewards, it seems they’ve been bumped up as have the vendor buy prices for trash. I could be wrong, but in Azeroth 1.0, I don’t remember many grey vendor trash items going for more than 1G. I must have sold two or three yesterday for mid-30s grey items.

Seems I’ve been away a while…

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 10, 2007 in World of Warcraft

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Mudflation is Alive and Well in Azeroth

  1. Wilhelm2451

    September 11, 2007 at 4:04 am

    I deleted my Auctioneer database to start anew once I took a look at some prices in the AH. I feel very poor with me saved up 102 gold.

    On the bright side, total auction listings seems to about on par with days gone by.

     
  2. p@tsh@t

    September 11, 2007 at 5:51 am

    Heh. I hadn’t thought about that… good idea.

    And to think I did the Mithril Order quests to completion…

     
  3. oakstout

    September 12, 2007 at 2:18 pm

    The pricing has gone nuts since everyone moved into space. Specially the ore,h people are trying to get good money off the new jewelcrafters.

     
  4. p@tsh@t

    September 12, 2007 at 3:57 pm

    I may just have to do a wee experiment to see how long it takes for a low or midlevel alt to make 100G now… Oh boy, another Mr. Science post!

     
  5. oakstout

    September 12, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    ake sure you do the experiment using data from weekdays and weekends.
    The trick I found out was to buy up all the cheap items on the AH during the week and then sell them on the weekend. But harvested items can sell pretty good during the week, since everyone usually will craft items on the weekends.

    Also, copper, silver and other low level ores tend to sell better now that Jewel crafting has been implemented. But as usual the scale changes from day to day, and people tend to low ball listings on the AH.

    I’m sure I’m not telling any of you seasoned veterans anything you don’t already know. lol

     

Leave a Reply

 
