RSS

Age of Conan [not] at E3

21 Jul

Continuing the theme of new game lust (or maybe its just summer no new MMO doldrums), here’s an opportunity to take a look at Age of Conan’s combat system. Grit your teeth through the beginning intro and you’ll be rewarded with an informative well narrated tour of AoC’s combat system. The combat system narrative starts about 1/3 of the way through.

A couple of things shown that seem very cool to me:

  • No targeting. Damage is done in a cone of effect in front of the player. Imagine that: if you swing a giant sword around, you actually hit all the objects within the swing radius of the weapon.
  • Chain attacks and combos. Different combinations of moves result in greater effectiveness and create opportunities to use special attacks.
  • Intelligent ranged combat. Aiming and sniper mode. Very FPS, but I’m think I’m ready for something other than auto attack and forget in an MMO.
  • Mount-based combat. That’s all you had to say.

I’ve been fairly luke warm on Conan until now, but after seeing how some of this is coming together, I’m starting to come around.

[Update. DOH. Ok, apparently I’m so stuck in the summer MMO doldrums that I didn’t notice that this is last year’s E3 clip. Sometimes I’m such an idiot. Still looking for something more current, so standby. In the meantime, continue to enjoy. Here’s something more current from GDC. You can see the basics have remained the same and the narration gives a lot of good background. Still going to be hard to wait until October 30, unless Pirates of the Burning Sea shakes my booty. Yeargh.]

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 21, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Age of Conan [not] at E3

  1. tipa

    July 23, 2007 at 4:24 am

    Well, this is another MMO that tries to be different. I was going to play it, then I wasn’t and I was going to try WAR instead, now WAR is looking too standard and AOC more unusual so I may try that instead.

     
  2. p@tsh@t

    July 23, 2007 at 4:45 am

    I hear you. I have a serious case of the mmo doldrums going on right now. Nothing currently out has that “must get home from work to play” feeling right now.

    I agree that WAR is giving me that sinking feeling the more I see… I’m really hoping PotBS delivers. I could use a break from Same-mmo same-mmo.

     
  3. Yunk

    July 25, 2007 at 3:49 pm

    Yeah that old video is suddenly making the rounds again. But it is good and still up to date really.

    Another thing I also like in an interview they talked about how they created animations for every possible transition between moves; so, there is no jerking around. From the videos it seems to suffer less from the uncanny valley than some other games, but, well as a “realistic” game it still does.

    More and more I am interested in Conan. I just hope to find people I like to play with. The forums are like forums anywhere. They are still not done with the pvp rules, it looks like they will have various different servers with different rule sets.

     

Leave a Reply

 
