RSS

Middle Earth Bound

09 May

With SOE still down… I was a bit at a loss for gaming interest this weekend.  My WoW sub is still current, but running down and regardless I have little interest in poking my head back in.

World of Tanks is a welcome respite but can’t quite scratch that true MMO itch.  In my free time I gave Minecraft a spin (albeit the outdated “free” version).  I can definitely see the appeal and the sandbox aspect definitely kept me occupado for a while, but still it wasn’t quite what I was looking for.

So I was looking at my desktop for lonely forelorn icons and I found the neglected LotRO icon.  I definitely LIKE LotRO having played it and watched it since beta.  But sometimes its hard to LOVE LotRO.  However, there is much more right with the game than wrong, and one of my past-misgivings about it was simply the fact that although I like it quite a bit, it was not necessarily subscription-worthy for me.  Its not that the subscription was such a burden that it was an economic hardship, but rather that I simply wasn’t compelled to play it enough in subscription form.

With the transition to free to play, however, LotRO remains always accessible.  The somewhat reduce instance group had been exploring LotRO until Cataclysm released.  Despite the transition to F2P, I think we all were still on a subscription of a kind (Wilhelm being a lifer).  We enjoyed it while we were there, but when we reconvened as a full group in WoW for Cataclysm, we put LotRO on the back burner.  I for one canceled my sub.

So with the downtime of SOE and the interruption of EQ2 (specifically EQ2 Extended), I was feeling the old itch of needing to spend some time in a virtual world.  With the transition to F2P, LotRO was quickly patched and up to the task.

It was a bit jarring to go from VIP(aka subscription) to pure free to play however.  One of my non-group alts had been exploring Evendim (an area added after launch that I had never been to).  I had a number of quests in my log, but found quickly that after turning them in, I was confronted with what I’ll call the Turbine Lemon of Free to Play Dissatisfaction.

I know, this is Nan Amlug, but work with me...

Having been a full paying subscriber, I was quite used to playing wherever and whenever I wanted, so I was a bit surprised (though not totally so) of running into the paywall since I was questing in various areas outside of the basic “starter areas” (e.g., Evendim, North Downs, Nan Amlug, etc.).

Even so, I can’t begrudge the F2P model too much.  At least it let me keep and complete the quests in those zones which I had already acquired.  I was able to turn them in when complete, I just couldn’t pick up the continuation without an upgrade.  Not a significant hurdle since I was just dropping in for a bit.

More frustrating was the denial of taxi transport.  I had assumed, incorrectly apparently, that the game currency requirement would be a sufficient gating mechanism to travel.  Wrong I was.  Apparently fast and not-so-fast travel is restricted on pure F2P accounts.  The only way to go from nearby point A to nearby point B was to pay for a temporary unlock (and still have to pay for the actual travel).  Likewise, the “fast travel” option between major towns was also restricted.  I’m not sure that this is a good model.  IMHO, it seems that if you charge for the access to quest content in new areas, then charging for travel is a bit trivial.  In theory, if I have no access to current content in the North Downs, for example, I’m certainly less likely to be traveling there, so whats the point of the restriction?

Of course, as I finished up some quests in Evendim, I inevitably was forced to travel back to Esteldin and without a better travel option, I had to resort to my Return to Bree skill and then hoof it to the North Downs.  A minor inconvenience, but once there I was able to complete a number of previously undertaken quests and managed to get an entire level.  As a result, I am now Known to the Rangers of Esteldin.

Now one of the Usual Suspects...

All in all not a bad Sunday spent in LotRO.  I still have a vague goal of someday getting to Moria and points beyond, but for now, I’m quite content with the idea that I can drop back into a game that I have a great deal of respect for and continue to get enjoyment out of whenever time permits.  I think that’s the essence of a F2P model done right.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2011 in Free to Play, LotRO

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Middle Earth Bound

  1. Brian 'Psychochild' Green

    May 9, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    I’ve not been overly thrilled with how LotRO has gone since they’ve switched to free-to-play, as I’ve posted on my blog. I much prefer DDO, which I think does the business model better. (Sadly, Turbine Points don’t transfer between the two games.)

    Anyway, I’ve not noticed any particular problems with the travel options on my “premium” (that is, non-subscriber) account when I’ve gone back to poke around a bit. It seemed that any characters around when you were a subscriber get a lot more benefits than ones created while non subscribing. Maybe there’s some of that going on? Not sure.

    Anyway, if you decide to give DDO a try, let me know. Massively started a guild on the Cannith server which is small, but has some pretty good people. Okay, most of them are me and friends I know from offline at this point, but we’re cool. :)

     
  2. p@tsh@t

    May 9, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    Interesting. I’m curious what restrictions a “pure” F2P account has. Mine has been off and on since beta and Mrs. P’s has been pretty much on since launch.

    I’ve fallen in like with DDO from time to time but I can’t convince any of my lazy cohorts to take the plunge. I may take you up on the offer.

    I agree that I think DDO does the F2P better. As I alluded to, if I don’t have access to the primary form on content delivery in a zone, then that zone is pretty much useless to me. Especially in a lore heavy title like LotRO.

    Still, I give them kudos in making the world accessible to tourists of ME that may end up converted to paying customers. I’m not sure that DDO has the same draw. I know many folks that would like to just tromp around ME whether or not they would like to get sucked into the progression game.

    Some people, I suspect just want to see what Middle Earth looks like and Turbine has done a decent job of rendering a worldly environment. Still, they are largely trading on the impressions Tokien lore lovers have in their minds.

    To that end, LotRO will always have a monopoly on the Tolkien lore and thus be the only game in town when it come to the “one true” lore…

    I for one will gladly give them money from time to time for the experience because they seem to have done a decent job of creating a continuing gaming experience within the constraints (more or less) of the lore and the restrictions of the license.

     
  3. Brian 'Psychochild' Green

    May 10, 2011 at 2:17 am

    Yeah, I can see how LotRO would have a more compelling reason for players to open their wallets, but to me it isn’t as satisfying. I guess I’m just really frustrated that there seems to be some “core” elements still out of the reach of subscribers.

    Or maybe I’ve got my fill of hobbits and now prefer to spend my time with Drittzztzt the kopesh-wielding Drow ranger. Er, probably not. :P

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

