RSS

Claiming your STO Pre-Order Rewards

03 Feb

Mrs. P and I ordered the Collector’s Edition of Star Trek Online.  The only CE I’ve ever ordered before was the WoW Wrath of the Lich King CE for Mrs.  (primarily because of the Frosty Pet).  She likes the pets, what can I say.  For those of you who don’t have the great good fortune of having a gaming wife, I pity you.  For those of you that do, I’m sure you’ll understand.

Now its obvious that the coolest STO item is the Kirk-era Constellation class starship Enterprise.  That of course was on offer from Gamestop.  Best Buy, however, offerred the tribble pet… You see where this is going.

As a result, our household ordered two STO CE’s.  One from Gamestop and one from Best Buy.  My schedule being what it is of late, I opted for delivery rather than pickup.  I had my doubts about Best Buy…

Gamestop dutifully shipped my CE over the weekend and it arrived today (launch day) as planned.  Best Buy, however, was only able to report that it had in fact just shipped the other CE today.  Fail.  No Tribbles for launch day.

Regarding the live launch– I got home late, fired up STO, patched a small patch and found myself in game.  No queues, no lag, utterly uneventful.  Apparently one of the 3 or so patches Cryptic pushed out between Sunday and tonight was a miracle patch.  In the two hours or so I was able to spend online (admittedly between 9-11pm Pacific time, later than peak), I had absolutely no problem.  Good job Cryptic.

Mrs. P, being somewhat shanked, decided to sit out launch day and got sucked into Frontline:  Digital Nation – Life on the Virtual Frontier.  Eff that.  Its launch day baby and I’m takin the Constellation Class ship out and kick some Gorn/Klingon/Whoever comes along Butt.

If you want to know what comes in the CE box, go here.  Yes, I got the communicator badge.  I’ll save it for jury duty.

Ok, time to enter my key and claim my rewards.  How hard can it be? (pssst, their name is “Cryptic” tee hee).  So I go to the STO website and log in, then go to my account page.  Hrm.  Other than a download link, nothing obvious like an “enter my key” link or anything like that.  Flipping to the back of the lovely full color hard cover art book that came with the CE and which houses the CD for the game I see the game key and instructions directing me to http://www.startrekonline/activate.  A little obtuse, but well, ok, maybe there is some rational reason (like security) to obscure the key entering part of the web site.

Key entered, a few hitches with the subscription part of the deal (yes, you are required to subscribe even though you get a free month… get over it) and then I’m in game.

Inventory check.  No stuff.  Run around Earth Spacedock to the mailbox, no stuff.  Go to the Shipyard and try to select ship, no stuff.  Type /claim, no stuff.  Ugh.  Cryptiiiiiiiiiiiic!

Reluctantly I went to my global chat tab.  Someone says to go to the C-Store, Cryptic’s version of the microtransaction store (Down arrow by the minimap or type /cstore).

Thar she blows.  My beloved Constellation class ship (oh, and that crap red matter thingy too, whatever).  Double clicking or “claim”ing these items puts them into your inventory.  Once in your inventory double clicking again makes them available to you.  In my case, the Constellation class ship was unlocked and all I had to do was go to the “Shipyard” section of the Earth Spacedock  and talk to Ensign Obin to select your ship and make the new ship active.  Don’t forget to transfer any cool components from your old ship to your new ship.  Note the Conny has TWO engineering stations.  Gonna have to get me a second engineering BO…

Then it was just a matter of selecting my new ship.  It was originally called the USS Alexandra (blech) but I customized it and changed it to the USS Penbryn with a quick visit to Dirz Raxx nearby.

Constellation in hand, what about the Uniform options?  Subspace communications indicated that uniform and appearance changes were available through the tailor, or rather Ghemik “The Cardassian” Telur, located about 8 o’clock in the Requisitions Sector of the Earth Spacedock.

Once there, I could choose between the TNG Series or Film Uniforms or the DS 9 versions.  Uniform and appearance changes are NOT free which is kind of a screw job, but they were cheap enough that I got over it quickly.  I went with a DS 9 variant.

So after futzing around for a bit, I had to take the Conny out for a shakedown.  I headed out to Delta Volanis and set a course for the nearest anomaly.

Unfortunately, the first mission I drew was an exploration mission on the Ice World Hoth Planet Gamma Orionis something something.

The mission involved scanning a number of alien devices and generally kicking booty in a fairly complicated fashion, though I was hoping for a more space based mission for the Enterprise Penbryn.

So aside from the amateur night regarding the actual subscribing and claiming rewards, performance was entirely stable and for the brief time I was in game, fun was had.  Good job (at least from my perspective) Cryptic!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2010 in Star Trek Online

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Claiming your STO Pre-Order Rewards

  1. Adventurer Historian

    February 3, 2010 at 12:18 am

    The original Connie looks fantastic. Ideally, I would have preordered the Digital Deluxe Edition through Gamestop, netting both the Constitution-class and the TOS uniforms. I’m not complaining about my Borg Bridge Officer, though – she’s pretty cool, and she’ll last me the whole game.

    “Completely uneventful” would describe my experience with the launch day as well. I was really pleasantly surprised.

    As for my uniform, I’ve gone “sorta TNG inspired.” By the way, you can unlock Kirk’s admiral’s uniform by typing in “JIH MUSHA SOH” as an activation code.

     
  2. spinks

    February 3, 2010 at 1:22 am

    So what’s the tribble pet like?

     
  3. Hudson

    February 3, 2010 at 5:25 am

    I uploaded a tribble video here

    Also we had a little bridge party on Tipa’s ship last night it was pretty cool!

     
  4. Rackham

    February 5, 2010 at 10:58 am

    Actually, have you tried that Red Matter capacitor? It is seriously good in space combat. You get a boost to power and damage that really helps in those massive tough battles.

    Just drop it into one of your devices tab on your ship (press U then click on your ship), and assign it to your hotbar.

    I use the thing almost every fight where I’m fighting heavy cruisers and such.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

