Research Redux

Ravious at KTR has some thoughts on the MMORPG “research” that Tobold linked the other day.  I’m convinced that any monkey with a copy of the DSM-IV could do a search are replace and come up with a fundable research plan.  Lets all play!

WORK: The following statements concern how important WORK is for you.

  • WORK has created real problems for me, but I keep working.
  • Sometimes I only plan to WORK for a few minutes and wind up spending hours on it.
  • WORK takes up almost all of my leisure time.
  • I would be a lot more productive if I didn’t WORK so much.
  • My family and friends get angry and tell me that I WORK too much, but I can’t stop.
  • I often WORK for a longer time than I intended.
  • I spend much more time WORKING than just about anything else.
  • I would spend more time with hobbies if I didn’t WORK so much.
  • Sometimes I feel like my whole life revolves around WORK.
  • I often think that I should cut down on the amount of WORK that I do.
  • When I can’t WORK I get restless or irritable.

WEARING FUNNY HATS: The following statements concern how important wearing funny hats is for you.

  • WEARING FUNNY HATS has created real problems for me, but I keep WEARING FUNNY HATS.
  • Sometimes I only plan to WEAR FUNNY HATS for a few minutes and wind up spending hours on it.
  • WEARING FUNNY HATS takes up almost all of my leisure time.
  • I would be a lot more productive if I didn’t WEAR FUNNY HATS so much.
  • My family and friends get angry and tell me that I WEAR FUNNY HATS too much, but I can’t stop.
  • I often WEAR FUNNY HATS for a longer time than I intended.
  • I spend much more time WEARING FUNNY HATS than just about anything else.
  • I would spend more time with hobbies if I didn’t WEAR FUNNY HATS so much.
  • Sometimes I feel like my whole life revolves around WEARING FUNNY HATS.
  • I often think that I should cut down on the amount of WEARING FUNNY HATS that I do.
  • When I can’t WEAR FUNNY HATS I get restless or irritable.

ENJOYING LIFE: The following statements concern how important enjoying life is for you.

  • ENJOYING LIFE has created real problems for me, but I keep ENJOYING LIFE.
  • Sometimes I only plan to ENJOY LIFE for a few minutes and wind up spending hours on it.
  • ENJOYING LIFE takes up almost all of my leisure time.
  • I would be a lot more productive if I didn’t ENJOY LIFE so much.
  • My family and friends get angry and tell me that ENJOY LIFE too much, but I can’t stop.
  • I often ENJOY LIFE for a longer time than I intended.
  • I spend much more time ENJOYING LIFE than just about anything else.
  • I would spend more time with hobbies if I didn’t ENJOY LIFE so much.
  • Sometimes I feel like my whole life revolves around ENJOYING LIFE.
  • I often think that I should cut down on the amount of ENJOYING LIFE that I do.
  • When I can’t ENJOY LIFE I get restless or irritable.

And one more:

SUFFERING NEEDLESSLY: The following statements concern how important suffering needlessly is for you.

  • SUFFERING NEEDLESSLY has created real problems for me, but I keep SUFFERING NEEDLESSLY.
  • Sometimes I only plan to SUFFER NEEDLESSLY for a few minutes and wind up spending hours on it.
  • SUFFERING NEEDLESSLY takes up almost all of my leisure time.
  • I would be a lot more productive if I didn’t SUFFER NEEDLESSLY so much.
  • My family and friends get angry and tell me that I SUFFER NEEDLESSLY too much, but I can’t stop.
  • I often SUFFER NEEDLESSLY for a longer time than I intended.
  • I spend much more time SUFFERING NEEDLESSLY than just about anything else.
  • I would spend more time with hobbies if I didn’t SUFFER NEEDLESSLY so much.
  • Sometimes I feel like my whole life revolves around SUFFERING NEEDLESSLY.
  • I often think that I should cut down on the amount of SUFFERING NEEDLESSLY that I do.
  • When I can’t SUFFER NEEDLESSLY I get restless or irritable.

5 thoughts on “Research Redux”

  1. Funny hats… it’s true… sometimes I feel like my whole life revolves around wearing funny hats. And breathing. I spend much more time breathing than just about anything else.

  2. Lol, good one. You can also insert “farting” (sophomoric, sorry), “daydreaming”, and of course “napping”. I DO often nap for a longer time than I intended. ;)

Leave a comment